2016 Southeast Emmy Awards

Congratulations to our Winners!

2016 Southeast Regional EMMY® Award Winners Announced

 Industry Veterans Honored for Excellence in Media

 ATLANTA – June 11, 2016–  The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) Southeast Chapter  recently announced the 2016 winners of its EMMY® Award at the 42nd Annual Southeast Regional EMMY® Awards Gala, which took place Saturday, June 11th at the Grand Hyatt Buckhead in Atlanta.

NATAS Southeast received over 1,200 entries and gave out 370 nominations in 98 different categories.  Leading the nominations were WXIA, WSB, Georgia Public Broadcasting, Telemundo, Univision, WGCL, FOX Sports South, WLOS and WYFF with over ten nominations each.  WSB took home the honors for best newscast in a large market for both its daily and morning newscasts, WSPA was honored with best newscast in a medium market and WXIA led all stations with 24 honors including overall excellence.  For Spanish language, Telemundo won for overall excellence; Univision won best newscast.  Multiple individual winners included WSB Anchor Craig Lucie, WSB Weather Anchor Glenn Burns, WBRC Sports Director Rick Karle, and WXIA’s Sports Anchor Brendan Keefe.  For a complete list of winners, visit www.southeastemmy.com.

“We had an amazing amount of entries this year, all displaying a high level of excellence, making the selection process extremely difficult,” said NATAS Southeast President Ioanna Dafermou.  “This special event honors the best in the business while motivating the next generation of media professionals.”

Categories for the 2016 Southeast Regional EMMY® Awards included: overall excellence, best newscast, documentaries, special assignments, breaking news, sports coverage, investigative reporting, on-camera talent and a new category added this year, journalistic enterprise.  To be eligible, entries must have been distributed to the general public via broadcast, cablecast, or broadband by a television station, a cable company, satellite, internet or similar distribution system during the 2015 calendar year.

The 2016 Southeast Regional EMMY® Awards were presented by The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) Southeast Chapter and the Award Gala was emceed by comedian and award-winning writer Holly Gillespie.  Also in attendance was NATAS president, Bob Mauro.  Mauro is an accomplished CBS Newsnews executive who worked on many prestigious broadcasts including the CBS Evening News and 60 Minutes.

The Weather Channel received the 2016 Governor’s Award for its many extraordinary years of pioneering excellence in television and public service.  The Weather Channel, a part of The Weather Company, launched in 1982 and provides lifesaving, 24 hour forecasts to residents across the U.S. and Caribbean.  Its team of meteorologists study and issue warnings during all types of severe weather events including Hurricane Katrina, Hurricane Sandy and the catastrophic EF5 tornado that struck Joplin, Mo.

“The Weather Channel has become a staple for people, providing vital information before, during and after a storm,” said Ian Feinberg, Southeast EMMY® Award chairperson and the 2015 Governor’s Award recipient.  “I am proud to honor them as this year’s Governor’s Award for the amazing work they do every day.”

Three students were also presented with scholarships during the Award Gala.

Media Contact:
Kerrie Levick
Creaxion ® for NATAS Southeast